Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Extras - Book Review

Extras (Uglies)

Extras by Scott Westerfeld is the fourth book in the Uglies Series. Uglies, Pretties, Specials are the titles of the first three books. I have read and enjoyed all four books. The series is set in a post apocalyptic world. The social ills are taken directly from today. In Extras, today's obsession with fame even only fifteen minutes of the infamous kind is a major theme of the story. Mr. Westerfeld creates a world relatable to today's teens and young adults trying to negotiate personal relationships with all of our new technology. A second major theme is interpretation of information, how easy it is to misunderstand facts. 

While reading the first three books helped understand the unique language style of the book, the book could be read as a stand alone. Any information needed from the previous books is included. The first three are best when read in order.
Uglies (Uglies Trilogy, Book 1)Pretties (Uglies Trilogy, Book 2)Specials (The Uglies)

Look up a copy and enjoy hours of fun. I was sad when I finished the book as good scifi is hard to find.

Kim Izzy

No comments:

Post a Comment